Get Representation from One of the Most Experienced California Lemon Law Firms!
Under California’s Lemon Law, consumers who purchase a lemon are entitled to a refund, a replacement vehicle, or cash compensation. Krohn & Moss has helped nearly 10,000 Californians exercise their rights and collect appropriate compensation after purchasing a lemon. Contact us today for a free case review so we can fight for you, too.
Southern California Office:
2447 Pacific Coast Highway Suite 200
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254
What Does the Lemon Law in California Cover?
California has one of the most consumer-friendly lemon laws in the country. The Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act (California’s Lemon Law) covers a variety of vehicle types, including cars, trucks, motorcycles, boats, and RVs. It also covers a number of other consumer goods, like appliances, computers, and TVs.
Vehicles protected under this law must:
- be covered by the manufacturer warranty at the time of the first repair attempt.
- be leased or purchased in a retail transaction within California (exceptions available for active members of the military).
- be a passenger vehicle, the gross weight of which is less than 10,000 lbs
- NOT belong to a business or individual with MORE than 5 vehicles registered in CA
It’s important to note that the manufacturer’s warranty is transferable, meaning that it can cover both new and used vehicles. The duration of the warranty differs from one vehicle to the next. Most offer complete coverage for at least 3 years or 36K miles plus additional powertrain and corrosion coverage. Other vehicles come with warranties that provide coverage for 5 or even 10 years.
California’s Lemon Law also includes guidelines about the kinds of vehicle defects that it protects consumers against:
- The manufacturer’s warranty must cover the defect.
- The defect needs to “substantially impair the vehicle’s use, value, or safety.”
- And the defect must persist after a “reasonable number of repair attempts” by the dealer.
Repair attempts include any time you’ve brought the vehicle to the dealer for the defect, even if the dealer forgets to address the issue. What qualifies as a “reasonable number of repair attempts” under the California Lemon Law differs from case to case. Typically, the dealer must have at least two attempts to repair a defect before the vehicle can be classified as a lemon.
What Is ‘The California Lemon Law Presumption’?
California law includes a legal presumption that a motor vehicle is a lemon if it meets any one of the following three conditions within the first 18 months or 18,000 miles of ownership:
- The vehicle is brought to the dealership four times (or more) because of a single defect.
- The vehicle is brought to the dealer twice (or more) because of the same significant safety defect.
- The vehicle is out of service for more than 30 days (total) because of a defect(s).
If even one of these sets of facts applies to your vehicle, the court will assume that it’s a lemon. The burden of proof then shifts to the manufacturer to prove otherwise. And in our experience, manufacturers almost never do so successfully. Contact us as soon as possible if your vehicle meets any of these qualifications and we can all but guarantee a fast and favorable settlement.
Why Choose Krohn & Moss as Your California Lemon Law Firm?
- 25+ Years of Experience Turning “Lemons” into “Lemon-Aid”
- Over 50,000 Success Stories Nationwide
- Over 10,000 Lemon Law Settlements in Illinois Alone
- Accomplished, Trustworthy Attorneys
- Responds to All Inquiries within 24 Hours
- No Fees Unless We Win Your Case
- We Always Seek Maximum Compensation for Clients