Learn the Basics of the Texas Lemon Law
The Texas Lemon Law dictates that consumers who’ve purchased or leased a new vehicle are entitled to a refund or a replacement if the vehicle is a lemon. This law applies to cars, trucks, motorcycles, and a variety of other motor vehicles, including motor homes and towable RVs.
If you have a lemon, the Texas Lemon Law attorneys at Krohn & Moss, Ltd. will fight to get you the compensation you deserve. We provide every client with a free case review, and we never charge a fee until we win your case. Even then, the manufacturer may be responsible for your legal fees. In these cases, our attorney will represent you at no cost to you!
Call us today at (866) 388-8290 to schedule your free Lemon Law case review!
What Qualifies as a Lemon under the Lemon Law in Texas?
For a vehicle to qualify as a lemon in Texas, it must have a defect that’s covered by the manufacturer’s written warranty. The defect must substantially diminish the value, use, or safety of the vehicle.
You must also report the defect while the warranty is still effective for your vehicle to qualify as a lemon. Then, you must grant the dealer a reasonable number of attempts (defined below) to fix the issue. Lastly, you must provide the manufacturer with written notice of the defect and a final opportunity to fix it – a process we will handle for you.
If the defect is still present after you’ve taken the above steps, the vehicle qualifies as a lemon. To receive the compensation you’re entitled to, you must file a Lemon Law complaint within six (6) months of:
- The expiration of the vehicle’s warranty
- 24 months of the original purchase date
- Traveling 24,000 miles with the vehicle
The Texas Lemon Law relies on the earliest of the above dates. So if you have a lemon, contact us as soon as possible. Doing so will ensure that we have the time we need to meet these deadlines and get you the refund or replacement vehicle you’re owed.
What Is a ‘Reasonable Number of Repair Attempts’?
Texas state law defines “reasonable number of repair attempts” in three different ways:
- Two (2) attempts for defects that are significant safety hazards
- Four (4) attempts for other defects
- Any number of attempts that take a total of 30 days or more
All three definitions require the attempts to take place within the first 24 months or 24,000 miles of the vehicle’s life, whichever comes first. Additionally, any time the dealer or manufacturer provides you with a comparable loaner while servicing your vehicle does not count toward the 30-day limit.
Our team of Texas Lemon Law lawyers makes it easy to get the compensation you deserve. Texas requires lemon owners to jump through a number of hoops before their vehicle can be officially called a lemon. To prevent you from suffering through more frustration, we’ll handle these obstacles on your behalf.
In many cases, we can even convince manufacturers to settle before taking those steps. In fact, 99% of our cases settle without going to trial. We’ve handled cases for vehicles of every make and model. Because of this, manufacturers generally know not to waste their time or money paying their legal teams to oppose us.
We know the Texas Lemon Law, as well as every other law that protects consumers, inside and out. Although the Texas Lemon Law doesn’t hold manufacturers responsible for your attorney fees, the federal Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act does. And we use every law on the books to get you the maximum compensation. So even in Texas, we often represent clients without charging them a single cent.
You’ve spent enough time trying to deal with your lemon already. Let us handle the rest. Contact us today at 866-388-8290 to get a free case review.
Why Choose Krohn & Moss as Your Texas Lemon Law Firm?
- 25+ Years of Experience Turning “Lemons” into “Lemon-Aid”
- Over 50,000 Success Stories Nationwide
- Accomplished, Trustworthy Attorneys
- Responds to All Inquiries within 24 Hours
- No Fees Unless We Win Your Case
- We Always Seek Maximum Compensation for Clients